Where to begin…

It’s been a restful weekend here at home.  What a blessing!  In the past few days, I’ve spent some time reflecting over the last 4 months.  And from the looks of this blog (because there isn’t much here), we’ve been doing things other than the farm!

This summer was one of the hardest seasons of life.  However, I am joyful to have gone through it and grateful for those who have wrapped their loving arms around us in prayer and hugs of comfort.  Our family is surrounded by an immense network of extended family, church family and friends.  They have loved on us with meals, prayers, moments of laughter and willingness to witness tears.

Here’s a little tribute to all three of my Grandmothers, whom I love and cherish.  Thank you for passing along your wisdom and love to others.  You each continue to touch lives in so many ways.

Grandmothers CollageAnd Grandma (Wanda), this blog post is for you!  Happy Birthday (this week)!  XXXOOO

So, we’re moving forward and regaining energy for the next phase of the journey. More on the next phase later…

Part of my “therapy” this summer was walking our little trail through the wildflower meadow.  Our neighbors probably thought I had lost my mind walking back and forth through what appears to be weeds. However, I was surrounded by hundreds of little baby plants sprouting up!  And, I am pleased to say that we have some nice collections of seed to sow yet this fall!  Here’s a look at the Cardinal flower, started in spring of 2012 and planted the fall of 2012.  I enjoyed our red beauties immensely.

First Cardinal Flowers bloom!

First Cardinal Flowers bloom!

The echinacea bloomed and we had one little asclepias and one little sage bloom too!  All planted last fall.  I have a couple of flats from gathered “babies” to plant in the ground this fall.  This meadow project is something that requires patience.  But when you come across a little gem of a plant, it’s SO worth it.

I look forward to getting back into the swing of things with the farm.  Thanks for listening (reading) and letting me share part of our life with you!

Categories: Fruit of the Spirit, Uncategorized, Wildflower Meadow | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.